[Weekly Scribbling] Week 1

Where I challenge myself to write at least one micro story a week…

One story this week as I’ve had a late start.

Not quite happy with it but the goal is to write stories, not the perfect stories.

~*~*~

“Can you imagine it, though?” The boy made an exuberant gesture, embracing the whole horizon. “Arrows of light soaring up to the skies in basking light, stopping clouds in their lazy wanderings and blinding the sun into shame!”

The old warrior managed to hold back a sigh for the sixth time but shook his head all the same. “I don’t need to imagine the Crystal City, son, I’ve seen it for myself.” He raised his hand to prevent the boy from talking more. “And yeah, the towers are pretty some but don’t fool yourself, it’s a city like any other city, full of greed and ugliness, with plenty of sick elders and starving children.”

The boy looked flustered. “But surely-”

“Surely what, son? A pretty view doesn’t fill your stomach or your purse. If anything, all that glory makes it all weigh more on you, trust me on that one.”

The boy looked truly depressed now. “But I wanted to see it so much…”

The old warrior mentally slapped himself. Maybe he’d been too harsh, wouldn’t be the first time. That kid was what, fourteen? Certainly not any older than sixteen. He’d been that young too, long time ago. And maybe as full of dreams, it was hard remembering. “And you’ll see it, son, one day you’ll see it. And maybe you’ll find it as glorious as you want it to be. But you might not is all I’m saying. And you need to brace yourself for disappointment.”

The boy seemed to regain some confidence as he nodded to the old man’s word. “I’ll do that, sir. I’ll do that.”

About Celyn

Heavy dreamer, lover of stories, obsessive gamer, voracious reader, music addict, and worshipper of the color black. I ramble, I rant, I overthink things, I dream out loud, I swear, I overuse smilies and abuse ellipses. You have been warned...
This entry was posted in Scribbles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

