Of writing and overthinking things

Okay, bear with me while I ramble about writing while trying to put my thoughts in order…

With November and NaNoWrimMo right around the corner I’ve been thinking about my writing (or lack thereof to be honest) a lot again.

I felt I was off to a good start last year, I got some very positive feedback and I genuinely liked what I was writing which was a first. But then I got stuck making the plot move forward and I just… gave up…

And since then I’ve berated myself so much for that failure that I’ve barely written anything. It’s quite a recurring theme with me.

But then I realized something…

Right now, I lack both the stamina and discipline for such long term projects. It’s a fact, there’s no denying it.

Somehow I turned that into a “then I shouldn’t write at all” thing. It’s also a recurring them with me.

But it doesn’t have to be so…

Discipline is something I can work on, something I can get better at. But it’s going to require some time. And practice. Rome wasn’t built in a day and all that.

Stamina is a different story (ha!) but it’s also something I can work around.

I don’t have the time and energy for a novel or short story, right now… So what?

Flash fictions and micro stories are a thing too. A thing I’ve tried my hand at before. Something I have the time and energy for!

So I guess, this is the challenge I’m setting for myself this year.

Write at least one micro story each week.

If I write more, then so be it, but once a week it is. I’m done setting unreachable goals to myself.

But I’m also done building walls in my own way…

About Celyn

Heavy dreamer, lover of stories, obsessive gamer, voracious reader, music addict, and worshipper of the color black. I ramble, I rant, I overthink things, I dream out loud, I swear, I overuse smilies and abuse ellipses. You have been warned...
This entry was posted in Rambling & Babbling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Of writing and overthinking things

  1. ethu says:

    I’ll be over here cheering you on, whatever you decide to tackle. *pompoms*

    Like

Leave a Reply

