I Hear You Say

The patience of an angel
I hear you say in praise
And I sigh in disbelief
Because you do not know
Because you cannot see
The anger bottled up inside
The burning rage lingering in my soul
Ready to pounce at the first moment of vulnerability
Always there, so close.

A heart of gold
I hear you say in awe
And I swallow a tear
Because you do not know
Because you cannot feel
The self-hatred crawling in my veins
The cold insecurities under my skin
Ready to suffocate every second of happiness
Always there, so real.

Bending but never breaking
I hear you say with respect
And I clench my fists in despair
Because you do not know
Because you cannot hear
All the cracks crossing my bones
The frailty of my resolve
Ready to snap at the first sign of weakness
Always there, so painful.

You do not believe that
I hear me say with doubt
And you shake your head with a smile
Because I do not know
Because I cannot understand
The trust you have in me
The comforting presence of your love
Always there, so sincere.

And I want to believe
As much as you believe
But I do not know how.

About Celyn

Heavy dreamer, lover of stories, obsessive gamer, voracious reader, music addict, and worshipper of the color black. I ramble, I rant, I overthink things, I dream out loud, I swear, I overuse smilies and abuse ellipses. You have been warned...
This entry was posted in Scribbles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

