In Sad Remembrance of…

It’s been twenty years already…

Twenty years since my whole country woke up in shock and horror.

Twenty years since we found out six of our children had been taken away, abused in every possible ways and, for four of them, left to slowly, painfully die by the predators who stole their lives and innocence.

Our country had failed us.

Our justice had proven too blind.

Our police forces had proven inefficient.

We felt horror, anger, disgust.

We clothed ourselves in white and marched our streets claiming: “NEVER AGAIN!”

And we fell into paranoia…

I was a child back then. Still naïve, still believing in the goodness in others.

I died a little inside and lost my childhood that day.

All of a sudden, the world we lived in was an hostile jungle where everyone was a potential threat and nowhere was safe.

And I struggled.

Struggled to reconcile my naïve vision of the world with its harsh reality and the even ruthless image it was painted in.

Struggled to find room for dreams and innocence when everything had turned into nightmares and supsicions.

Struggled to still see the best in others when presented with nothing but the worst.

In many ways, I still am struggling.

A lot has changed since then. For the better but also for the worst. And some things never did…

Far from me from placing the blame, it never was mine to place and I never was one for “should have” and “ought to”.

I don’t have the miracle cure to heal this wound and stop it from festering. I wish I had, if only I had… Wouldn’t it be great to heal the world with only a song…(*)

But it’s up to me, to all of us who watched this horror unfold in front of us, to not let it fall into oblivion.

Because twenty years later, this nightmare still haunts us and we owe it to future generations to remember and do better.

Because we vowed “never again” and it is a promise worth keeping.

 

 

(*) Serj Tankian – Honkin Antelope

About Celyn

Heavy dreamer, lover of stories, obsessive gamer, voracious reader, music addict, and worshipper of the color black. I ramble, I rant, I overthink things, I dream out loud, I swear, I overuse smilies and abuse ellipses. You have been warned...
This entry was posted in Rambling & Babbling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

